End Hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture

14 November 2017

14:15 – 15:45

Meeting Room 1 – Bonn Zone

Roundtable 3: Building Climate-Resilient Landscapes for Improved Food Security and Nutrition

Short description

The roundtable will explore challenges, opportunities, and lessons learned in the forest and agriculture sectors, and will in particular focus on identifying the kinds of support needed to allow the small-scale foresters, indigenous peoples and pastoralists to identify sustainable coping strategies as well as the role of investors and private sector in support to sustainable land management and wider landscape approaches. It will also map key governance challenges, and review partnership experiences for the implementation of integrated landscape approaches.

Moderator: Mr. Benoît Bosquet, Practice Manager for Environment and Natural Resources, World Bank


  • Eduardo Mansur, Director Land and Water Division, FAO
  • Judi Wangalwa Wakhungu, Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Water and Natural Resources, Kenya
  • Sydney Alexander Samuels Milson, Minister of Environment and Natural Resources, Guatemala
  • Joan Carling, Co-convenor of the Indigenous Peoples’ Major Group (IPMG) for Sustainable Development
  • Siti Nurbaya Bakar, Minister of Environment, Indonesia
  • Walter Oyhantcabal, Director, Agriculture and Climate Change Unit, Ministry of Livestock, Agriculture and Fishery, Uruguay
  • Valentina Savastano, Vice-Chair, Committee on World Food Security


Connect with us

IPMG Organizing Partners

1 Roman Ayson Road, Baguio City 2600, Philippines
Tel. No. +63 74 444-7703 / Tex Fax +63 74 443-9459
Website: www.tebtebba.org
Email: tebtebba@tebtebba.org

International Indian Treaty Council
2940 16th Street, Suite 305, San Francisco, CA 94103, USA
Website: www.iitc.org
Email: info@treatycouncil.org

This initiative is being implemented with funding by the European Union.


Indigenous Peoples Major Group for Sustainable Development © Copyright 2018.